Skip to content

England Announces Unchanged Squad for Final Ashes Test in Bid to Level Series

In a bid to level the Ashes 2023 series, England Cricket has announced an unchanged squad for the final Test match scheduled to begin on July 27 at The Oval. After an unfortunate draw in the fourth Test due to persistent rain, England is determined to seize the opportunity to secure the Ashes, which have eluded them since 2015.

England found themselves in a commanding position during the fourth Test, with a chance to level the series. However, nearly two days of play were washed out by incessant rain in Manchester, denying England the chance to clinch a victory. Australia’s second innings showed promise as they scored 214/5, trailing by 61 runs from England’s first-innings score. Unfortunately, the weather conditions prevented any further action, and the match concluded in a draw, leaving both teams hungry for a decisive outcome in the final Test.

The heroics of Marnus Labuschagne were evident in the second innings, where his impressive knock of 111 runs, comprising 10 fours and two sixes, bolstered Australia’s chances in the game. While the fourth day witnessed some action during the second session, the final day was entirely washed out, leaving fans and players frustrated.

If Australia manages to secure a victory in the final Test, it will mark their first Ashes series win on English soil since 2001, adding an extra layer of significance to the upcoming match at The Oval.

England’s skipper, Ben Stokes, has emphasized the importance of the fifth Test for his team. With the series hanging in the balance, the final match holds tremendous importance, and both teams will be eager to put forth their best performances.

As the match approaches, England’s management will carefully assess various factors, including the workload of their players, before finalizing the playing XI. The decision to declare the squad closer to the match aims to optimize the team’s chances of success.

England squad for the fifth Test: Ben Stokes (capt), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram