Skip to content

ICC Announces Star-Studded Commentary Panel for Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled a stellar commentary panel for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, ensuring an unmatched viewing experience for cricket fans worldwide. The tournament, taking place across nine locations in the USA and West Indies, will feature some of the biggest names in cricket and broadcasting.

Leading the commentary team are renowned cricket figures Ravi Shastri, Nasser Hussain, Ian Smith, Mel Jones, Harsha Bhogle, and Ian Bishop. They will be joined by former Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cup champions, including Dinesh Karthik, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite, Steve Smith, Aaron Finch, and Lisa Sthalekar.

The panel also includes former 50-over World Cup winners such as Ricky Ponting, Sunil Gavaskar, Matthew Hayden, Ramiz Raja, Eoin Morgan, Tom Moody, and Wasim Akram, who will lend their expert analysis throughout the tournament. Making his World Cup debut, American commentator James O’Brien, better known as Jomboy, will provide context to the games for American audiences.

Other prominent names on the commentary team include Dale Steyn, Graeme Smith, Michael Atherton, Waqar Younis, Simon Doull, Shaun Pollock, and Katey Martin. They will be joined by well-known broadcasters Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Natalie Germanos, Danny Morrison, Alison Mitchell, Alan Wilkins, Brian Murgatroyd, Mike Haysman, Ian Ward, Athar Ali Khan, Russel Arnold, Niall O’Brien, Kass Naidoo, and former West Indies captain Daren Ganga.

The ICC will offer extensive coverage of the tournament across its 28 days, featuring a pre-match show, an innings interval program, and a post-match wrap-up. Building on the success of the vertical feed at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, ICC TV will introduce an AI-supported vertical feed for the T20 World Cup, a world-first for cricket, produced in collaboration with Disney Star, Quidich Innovation Labs, and NEP.

Commentator Insights:

Aaron Finch: “This is a special event and one that promises a lot of excitement with 20 teams competing and many thrilling contests lined up. I am proud to have led Australia to victory in the 2021 edition and understand the immense effort required to win in this unforgiving format. I look forward to bringing all my experience as a player to my commentary during the tournament.”

Carlos Brathwaite: “The T20 World Cup is a tournament very close to my heart, and I’m thrilled this edition is being played in the West Indies and for the first time in the USA. I can’t wait for my stint as a commentator at this event, and I hope this is a truly memorable one.”

Katey Martin: “This tournament always promises a few surprises. With 20 teams participating, it will be exciting to see some of the Associate teams have a crack at the bigger sides. I am fortunate to be part of such a fantastic team of broadcasters, and I’m looking forward to an incredible event.”

Dinesh Karthik: “This tournament will be different in many ways, which makes it even more exciting. With 20 teams, 55 matches, and some new venues, it’s a thrilling combination, and I can’t wait to dive in. Being part of such a high-class commentary team is a fantastic feeling, and commentating on players I have recently played with makes it even more interesting.”

Ebony Rainford-Brent: “This is the year of ICC T20 World Cups, with an exciting 20-team men’s tournament coming up and the women’s tournament following in Bangladesh later. I’ve had the pleasure of working at several ICC events in the past, and they just keep getting better. Sharing my views alongside the best from around the world is an incredible opportunity. I can’t wait to get started!”

Dale Steyn: “The Men’s T20 World Cup, with its new format and more teams competing, is a fantastic opportunity to spread the game. I’m sure both old and new cricket fans will be eager for the action to begin. I will be watching every team closely, and it will be fascinating to see the different tactics that come into play.”

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will commence on June 1, with the co-hosts USA taking on Canada at Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. A total of 55 matches will be played by 20 teams across nine venues, culminating in the final on June 29 in Barbados, promising an exhilarating cricketing spectacle.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Commentary Panel:

Leading Commentators:

  • Ravi Shastri
  • Nasser Hussain
  • Ian Smith
  • Mel Jones
  • Harsha Bhogle
  • Ian Bishop

Former Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cup Champions:

  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Ebony Rainford-Brent
  • Samuel Badree
  • Carlos Brathwaite
  • Steve Smith
  • Aaron Finch
  • Lisa Sthalekar

Former 50-Over World Cup Winners:

  • Ricky Ponting
  • Sunil Gavaskar
  • Matthew Hayden
  • Ramiz Raja
  • Eoin Morgan
  • Tom Moody
  • Wasim Akram

New Commentators:

  • James O’Brien (Jomboy)

Other Big Names:

  • Dale Steyn
  • Graeme Smith
  • Michael Atherton
  • Waqar Younis
  • Simon Doull
  • Shaun Pollock
  • Katey Martin

Renowned Cricket Broadcasters:

  • Mpumelelo Mbangwa
  • Natalie Germanos
  • Danny Morrison
  • Alison Mitchell
  • Alan Wilkins
  • Brian Murgatroyd
  • Mike Haysman
  • Ian Ward
  • Athar Ali Khan
  • Russel Arnold
  • Niall O’Brien
  • Kass Naidoo
  • Daren Ganga

Also See: Match Officials (Umpires and Referees List for 2024 T20 World Cup

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram