Skip to content

International League T20 (ILT20) Announces Second Season from January 2024

The highly anticipated second season of the International League T20 (ILT20) is set to enthrall cricket fans worldwide, with England’s batting maestro Joe Root and West Indies’ explosive player Shimron Hetmyer headlining a star-studded lineup. The ILT20, sanctioned by the Emirates Cricket Board, is scheduled to kick off in January 2024, promising months of captivating cricket action in Abu Dhabi, Dubai, and Sharjah.

The announcement of the retained players for the upcoming season has added to the excitement, as the franchises gear up to showcase their prowess in this T20 extravaganza. Alongside Root and Hetmyer, an array of international cricket stars have been confirmed for ILT20 2024.

The Abu Dhabi Knight Riders have retained the services of the T20 mega star, Andre Russell, who is known for his explosive hitting. Joining him is the crafty spinner Sunil Narine, adding depth and experience to the squad. Players like Joe Clarke, Charith Asalanka, Marchant De Lange, Ali Khan, Sabir Ali, and Matiullah Khan will further bolster their ranks.

Meanwhile, the Desert Vipers, last season’s finalists, have opted to retain the hard-hitting opener Alex Hales, who emerged as the top-scorer in the inaugural season. Leading the team again will be the versatile Colin Munro, with talented players like Wanindu Hasaranga, Sherfane Rutherford, Tom Curran, and Luke Wood among those retained from the previous season.

Dubai Capitals have secured the services of the ace West Indian player, Rovman Powell, and the dependable England batsman, Joe Root. The franchise has also retained the skillful Dushmantha Chameera, the experienced Sikandar Raza, and the promising Raja Akifullah Khan.

The Gulf Giants, the reigning champions, have managed to retain their captain James Vince, who will be looking to lead the team to back-to-back titles. Adding firepower to their lineup is the explosive Shimron Hetmyer, along with other retained players including Chris Lynn, Carlos Brathwaite, Jamie Overton, and the Best Bowler of the Tournament from the previous season, Chris Jordan.

MI Emirates, another formidable franchise, will be led by the charismatic Kieron Pollard, who will look to replicate his heroics from the previous season. Alongside him is the T20 specialist and highest wicket-taker, Dwayne Bravo. The squad also includes Nicholas Pooran, Trent Boult, Muhammad Waseem, and other talented players.

Bowling all-rounder Chris Woakes and seasoned batsman Joe Denly will continue to represent the Sharjah Warriors. They will be joined by Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Mark Deyal, Junaid Siddique, and Muhammad Jawadullah, as the team seeks to make a significant impact in the upcoming season.

Rahul Johri, President – Business, Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited, expressed his delight at the overwhelming response received by DP World ILT20 in its first season, with a massive 367 million worldwide reach across TV and Digital platforms. He emphasized that the second season promises even more unparalleled cricketing action, further solidifying ILT20’s status as a premier T20 league.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram