Skip to content

Ishan Kishan named KL Rahul’s replacement for ICC WTC Final with Ruturaj, Mukesh and Suryakumar on stand-by

India is set to face Australia in the ICC World Test Championship final, commencing on June 7 at The Oval, London. Wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan has been announced as KL Rahul’s replacement for the crucial match, while Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, and Suryakumar Yadav have been named as stand-by players, according to a press release from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

KL Rahul suffered a right upper thigh injury during the 43rd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore on May 1. After consulting with specialists, it was decided that Rahul will undergo surgery as soon as possible, followed by rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA). Consequently, he will not participate in the upcoming ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia.

Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat’s participation in the ICC World Test Championship final remains uncertain, as they continue their respective rehabilitation processes for their injuries. Earlier, we picked that Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Sarfaraz Khan were potential replacements for KL Rahul. Kishan boasts a strong first-class cricket record, Jaiswal has consistently impressed in domestic and IPL matches, while Khan has excelled in domestic cricket, particularly in first-class games, with a remarkable batting average.

Jaydev Unadkat sustained a left shoulder injury after tripping on the side rope while bowling in the nets. A specialist consultation has been sought, and the left-arm fast bowler is currently at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, undergoing strength and rehab sessions for his shoulder. A decision regarding his participation in the WTC final will be made at a later stage.

Umesh Yadav experienced a minor left hamstring injury during Match 36 of IPL 2023 between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on April 26. The fast bowler is currently under the care of the KKR Medical Team and has begun low-intensity bowling as part of his rehabilitation process. The BCCI Medical Team is in regular contact with the KKR Medical Team and is closely monitoring Umesh’s progress.

India’s squad for WTC final

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram