Skip to content

It’s India vs Australia for 2023 World Test Championship Final at Oval

India have secured their spot in the World Test Championship final at The Oval, starting on June 7, after Sri Lanka’s push for a top-two finish was ended by a thrilling last-ball win for New Zealand.

Despite rain hampering Sri Lanka and them being unable to bowl out New Zealand on day five of the first Test in Christchurch, Rohit Sharma’s side only needed to take a 2-1 series lead in the opening three of four Tests at home against Australia to secure their place in the final.

In fact, their destructive start against Australia at home means that their worst possible WTC points percentage is now 57%. Their strong home series against New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh set up their charge to the WTC final.

To add to the icing on the cake, India is on track to avoid defeat in the fourth Test against Australia and win the Border-Gavaskar series outright.

This sets up a final against Australia on neutral ground at The Oval in London, with the winner claiming the World Test Championship mace.

India lost the inaugural World Test Championship final to New Zealand in 2021 when Kane Williamson’s side chased down a target of 139 in Southampton.

2023 ICC World Test Championship Final Schedule

Match: India vs Australia, Final Test

Dates: Jun 07, Wedย โ€“ย Jun 11, Sun

Timing: 3:30pm IST | 6am EST | 10am GMT | 11am Local

Venue: Kennington Oval, London

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram