Skip to content

Star Cricketers Babar Azam and David Miller to Participate in Lanka Premier League 2023

The league promises intense competition and expanded viewership through a partnership with Star Sports.

Sri Lanka is gearing up for an action-packed cricket extravaganza as the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023 approaches. The highly anticipated tournament, scheduled to take place from July 30 to August 21, will witness the participation of renowned international cricketers, including Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, and David Miller.

With the fourth edition of the Lanka Premier League on the horizon, cricket enthusiasts can expect an enthralling display of skills and talent from some of the sport’s biggest names. Among the star-studded lineup are Pakistan’s Babar Azam, Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan, and South Africa’s David Miller, who are set to dazzle spectators with their exceptional cricketing prowess.

The forthcoming season will also feature prominent Sri Lankan players such as Thisara Perera, Wanidu Hasaranga, Angelo Mathews, and skipper Dasun Shanaka. Matches will be held at two prestigious venues, Colombo and Kandy, adding to the excitement and intensity of the competition.

In a significant development for cricket enthusiasts across India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, the Maldives, and the MENA region, Star Sports has been announced as the official television broadcaster for the LPL 2023. This collaboration ensures that fans in these regions can enjoy the league’s matches live, exclusively on Star Sports.

Anil Mohan Sankhdhar, Founder and CEO of IPG Group, the official rights holder of the LPL, expressed his delight about the partnership with Star Sports. He emphasized that the LPL has not only provided an exciting brand of cricket but has also acted as a platform for nurturing talented cricketers in Sri Lanka. Sankhdhar further expressed his excitement about the opportunity to offer global cricketing audiences a highly competitive and captivating brand of T20 cricket, complemented by engaging non-live cricketing content.

Tournament Director Samantha Dodanwela shared her confidence in the upcoming edition of the Lanka Premier League, expressing her belief that it will reach new heights in terms of team competitiveness and fan excitement. Dodanwela welcomed the partnership with Star Sports, stating that the collaboration will expand the tournament’s reach and enable it to connect with a wider audience.

A spokesperson from Star Sports expressed enthusiasm about the association with LPL, highlighting the league’s thrilling action and loyal fan base across the subcontinent and MENA region. The spokesperson affirmed that the partnership would allow the upcoming season to captivate an even broader audience, promising an unforgettable experience for fans.

The five teams competing for the coveted title in the Lanka Premier League 2023 are the Colombo Strikers, Dambulla Aura, Galle Titans, Jaffna Kings, and B-Love Kandy. With star players from around the world and a broadcast partnership with Star Sports, this season is expected to be a thrilling display of cricketing excellence.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram