Skip to content

Australia announces squad for Ashes and ICC WTC final against India

The Australian cricket team has announced its 17-player squad for the upcoming 2023 Ashes series against England and the ICC World Test Championship final against India. The touring team will be led by Pat Cummins which also includes David Warner, who has been cleared to play following recovery from an elbow injury suffered during the Test series in India in February.

Pat Cummins will captain the team, returning after an absence during the third and fourth Tests in India to attend to his ill mother. The selected 17 players will be eligible for both the World Test Championship final against India and the first two Ashes Tests at Edgbaston and Lord’s. The team’s composition will be reassessed after the second Ashes Test, with the possibility of changes for the remaining matches.

A final 15-member squad for the ICC World Test Championship will be announced on May 28. Warner’s inclusion provides an opportunity for the veteran to improve his recent Test record, which includes only one century in 32 innings since 2021 and an average of 9.5 during the 2019 Ashes tour.

Usman Khawaja is expected to fill one of the opening spots, with Marcus Harris and Matt Renshaw as other potential partners for Warner. Harris returns to the squad alongside all-rounder Mitchell Marsh and wicketkeeper Josh Inglis, while Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Mitchell Swepson, and Matt Kuhnemann were not retained. Lance Morris is out due to injury.

Australia’s chair of selectors, George Bailey, highlighted the differences between the India tour and the upcoming UK matches. He emphasized the value of squad depth and flexibility provided by the returning players. Australia will face India in the World Test Championship final at The Oval from June 7-11, followed by the first Ashes Test against England at Edgbaston from June 16-20.

Australia’s World Test Championship Final and Ashes squad:

Pat Cummins (C), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc and David Warner.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram