Skip to content

India squad for ICC World Test Championship 2023 Final against Australia announced

BCCO has announced the Indian squad for the ICC World Test Championship final against Australia. Ajinkya Rahane makes a return to the Test team for the highly-anticipated match, scheduled for June 7 at The Oval, London.

The squad features a few unexpected inclusions, such as KS Bharat and Jaydev Unadkat, who recently played in Test matches for India. Rahane has been in remarkable form for the Chennai Super Kings during IPL 2023, scoring 209 runs in five appearances with a strike rate of 199.05. Bharat will replace Rishabh Pant, who is recovering from a car accident injury.

The Indian squad for the WTC final includes Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, and Jaydev Unadkat.

In contrast, Australia has already confirmed their lineup for the WTC final. David Warner is part of the 17-player touring party for the championship match against India at The Oval and the first two Ashes Tests. Pat Cummins will captain the team after taking a break during the third and fourth Tests against India to care for his ill mother in Australia.

The 17 players will be available for selection in the WTC final and the first two Ashes Tests at Edgbaston and Lord’s. After the second Ashes Test, selectors will reevaluate the squad composition, with the possibility of changes for the remaining matches against England at Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval. The final 15-player squad for the ICC World Test Championship will be named on May 28.

 ICC World Test Championship Final 
 Sr. No. DateMatchVenue
17th – 11th June (12th June  is reserve day)WTC FinalThe Oval, London

India’s Test squad WTC final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Australia’s World Test Championship Final and Ashes squad: Pat Cummins (C), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc and David Warner.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram